News:

TOS updated 12/22/05 -- http://www.berwyntalk.com/TOS/

Main Menu

TAXES

Started by Boris, August 21, 2006, 06:35:44 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Boris

Hello fellow Berwyn-buddies,

I have to start out by stating that I am a newbie home-owner. When I bought this place a year and a half ago, it was the first house I ever lived in (my parents were apartment dwellers...always on the move). The folks here on this board have been crazy-helpful in helping me find eveything from landscapers (thanks Saluki!) to roofers and places to drink or order pizza.

OK- now to the crux of the biscuit: I just got a letter from my mortgage company informing me of a projected shortage in the escrow account that pays my property taxes. This would be a nearly 30% increase from last year!

Does this seem right?

UPDATE: a friend who owns a business here, just told me his taxes went up 50%!
Only the impossible always happens.
- - R. Buckminster Fuller

java

Boris,
That is certainly possible.  The year after I bought my house here, the property taxes went up 38%.  I think that was a combination of the tri-annual assessment in 2002 and the fact that the property changed hands.  In the last three years, the increases have been more moderate (btw 2 and 4%).  If I were you I'd go to the www.cookcountyassessor.com website and do a residential property search.  If you don't know your PIN, you can search by address.  This is a good way to compare your assessed value with that of your neghbors, to make sure you are in the same ballpark.  Hope this helps...
The City of Homers

renovatorbear

There may be several reasons that your escrow is short.  Certainly, an increase in taxes could account for all or part of it.