News:

Berwyn Cares!
Information about Berwyn Schools. www.berwyncares.org

Main Menu

Is it dead.. or can i bring it back??

Started by Guy_on_Clinton, April 08, 2008, 06:17:03 PM

Previous topic - Next topic

Guy_on_Clinton

We planted Cypress Spirals with our landscaping remodel in late summer of 2006...  they looked great and healthy well into last fall...
One of them went brown and started to loose its needles sometime between the Cicada invastion and the first frost...

Is it dead.. or will it come back..  my wife thinks it was either the bugs or my neighboors salt that did it in... 
SPINDLEVIEW RULES!!!!!!!!

littlealexa

I'm really no expert but to me it looks dead.  I read somewhere that you should peel a bit of the bark and see if it is green.  If so, then it's alive. 

I have a similar question, I have a rose of sharon (double bloom pink flowers) that is 10 feet tall.  In 2006 it bloomed beautifully.  In 2007 it did not even leaf out at all.  Could the cicadas have damaged it?  I don't know if I should fertilize it this year to see if perhaps it will come back.  If it doesn't leaf, it will be getting yanked this summer. Any suggestions are appreciated.

apatriot

It's dead, Guy.

alexa, Rose of Sharon, yes, that is a test to see if it's alive, however, that does not mean the leaves will come back, or the flowers.  Lots were lost last year.  You can use this year to see if they come back.  I had two that went bad (after approx. 5 yrs.).  I left them for two more years just to make sure, and nothing happened despite the fact that when you scratched the stem you could see green.  Rose of Sharon are nice, so it's a shame when you lose one.

Berwyn Patsy

The yard next door to me (in Berwyn) had a ton of Rose of Sharon trees.   Seeds must fall off and
just continue to sprout up more.  It is a pretty tree, but a real attraction for every bee around!
One of my girls had a serious allergy to bee stings, and that always made me nervous when she played